UNTITLED ART, San Francisco: Alteronce Gumby & Tahir Carl Karmali

16 - 19 Januar 2020
Pier 35, 1454 The Embarcadero, San Francisco A19 https://untitledartfairs.com/san-francisco

Wir freuen uns, die Arbeiten von Alteronce Gumby an unserem Stand auf der UNTITLED, ART San Francisco, sowie die Serie Paradise von Tahir Carl Karmali im Rahmen des Special Project Program in der Podcast Lounge der Messe zu präsentieren. Diese Künstler bieten unterschiedliche Perspektiven auf die afrikanische Diaspora.

 

Alteronce Gumby (b. 1985, Harrisburg, US) lebt und arbeitet in New York, US. Seine Arbeiten untergraben das traditionelle Verständnis von Licht und Farbe durch die nuancierte Anwendung von Farbtonänderungen, welche oft direkt mit den Fingern und Händen des Künstlers erfolgt.

 

Tahir Carl Karmali (b. 1987, Nairobi, Kenya) lebt und arbeitet in New York, US. Sein Werk erstreckt sich über Drucktechniken, Installation, Skulptur und Fotografie. Sein Interesse an Material und Prozess ist integraler Bestandteil bei der Kommunikation seiner Erzählungen, die sich auf globale ökologische und sozioökonomische Faktoren konzentrieren. Hierfür nutzt er speziell beschaffte Materialien, um seine Erzählungen zu unterstreichen. Diese stellen eine emotionale Bindung mit persönlichen wie auch kollektiven Erinnerungen her.

 

Wir freuen uns auch auf unseren Artist Talk "Landscapes: Here and Now" - a Conversation with an Intergenerational Group of Artists" am Samstag, den 18. Januar 2020. UNTITLED, ART, in Zusammenarbeit mit Lars Kristian Bode, ACA Galleries (New York) und Alaina Simone, Independent Artist Liaison und Kuratorin, präsentiert einen Talk mit Alteronce Gumby, Tahir Carl Karmali und Richard Mayhew, moderiert von Andrew Walker, Executive Director des Amon Carter Museum of American Art. Ihre Arbeiten zeigen autobiographische Erfahrungen, die durch abstrahierte Landschaften dargestellt werden, die alle Ecken der Welt und ihre Vorstellung von Heimat" widerspiegeln.

Richard Mayhews Werke sind in der Ausstellung "Soul of a Nation: Art in the Age of Black Power 1963-1983" zu sehen, welche derzeit im de Young Museum gezeigt wird und Mayhews Monografie wird 2020 bei Chronicle Books erscheinen.

UNTITLED ART, San Francisco: Alteronce Gumby & Tahir Carl Karmali

16 - 19 January 2020
Pier 35, 1454 The Embarcadero, San Francisco A19 https://untitledartfairs.com/san-francisco

We are pleased to present present the work of Alteronce Gumby wit a solo booth at UNTITLED, ART San Francisco, as well as Tahir Carl Karmali's Paradise series as part of the Special Project Program in the fair's Podcast Lounge. The artists provide different perspectives of the African diaspora from African-American to Eastern African.

 

Alteronce Gumby (b. 1985, Harrisburg, USA) is an abstract artist working across multiple mediums and disciplines. In Gumby's process, he utilizes landscape as it relates to space and everyday life. His paintings focus on representation of the self and subvert the traditional understanding of light and color through nuanced application of tonal changes directly with the artist's fingers and hands.

 

Tahir Carl Karmali (b. 1987, Nairobi, Kenya) is a process-based conceptual artist whose work spans printing, installation, sculpture, and photography. His interest in material and process is integral to how he communicates narratives centered around global environmental and socioeconomic factors. This incorporates specially sourced materials to emphasize a narrative that exposes a raw emotional attachment to memory, both personal and collective.

 

We are also looking forward to our artist talk "Landscapes: Here and Now" - a Conversation with an Intergenerational Group of Artists" on Saturday January 18, 2020. UNTITLED, ART, in collaboration with Lars Kristian Bode, ACA Galleries (New York) and Alaina Simone, Independent Artist Liaison and Curator, present a conversation with an intergenerational group of artists including Alteronce Gumby, Tahir Carl Karmali, and Richard Mayhew, moderated by Andrew Walker, Executive Director of the Amon Carter Museum of American Art. Their work depicts autobiographical interpersonal experiences portrayed through abstracted landscapes that reflect all corners of the world and their idea of "home".

Richard Mayhew's paintings are included in the exhibition "Soul of a Nation: Art in the Age of Black Power 1963-1983", on view at the de Young Museum, and Mayhew's monograph will be published by Chronicle Books in 2020.